New ibike user, old ibike model

dpollard

New ibike user, old ibike model

Post by dpollard »

I have one of the older wireless ibike models (red button on top) that I have been using for a couple months now. I'm not sure how accurate it is (have nothing to compare it to) but it seems to work ok. There seems to be all kinds of calibration requirements with the newer models and I guess the reason for this is better accuracy. I'm not sure what more I can do with my old model to make it more accurate. There doesn't seem to be any calibration ride feature that I see so many references to in this forum. Anyway, as I said it seems to work ok and I would like to believe that the power output I've been getting is fairly accurate. The only time that the readings started to go out of control was after I put my racing wheels on. I should have probably done a new calibration but I didn't and I noticed that the wattage was a bit higher than usual. Despite the fact that I was riding faster with my racing wheels I didn't feel as though I was generating that much more power as the power output was indicating. However, the power readings started to shoot up even more after a few rides and I began ignoring it and focused more on my HR output rather than on the real-time power output. I would then download my rides to my computer and the iBike application would analyze the ride data and adjust the power readings to make them seemingly more accurate. I use the "just analyze without a profile" option.